New African countries sign the Nigeria-Morocco gas pipeline project

Five new African countries signed memorandums of understanding on the Nigeria-Morocco gas pipeline project with the Economic Community of West African States, Senegal and Mauritania, to add to the previously signed memorandums.

The tripartite memorandums were signed in the capital, Rabat, between Morocco and Nigeria on the one hand, and Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Sierra Leone and Ghana on the other, in the presence of Amina Ben Khadra, Director General of the National Office for Hydrocarbons and Minerals in Morocco, and officials of national companies in the countries concerned.

The line is expected to be completed in 2027, and it extends for a length of more than 6,000 km through 11 countries, to deliver 3 billion cubic feet per day of natural gas along the coast of West Africa, starting from Nigeria and passing through Benin, Togo, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Gambia and Senegal and Mauritania all the way to Morocco, to be linked to the European Maghreb gas pipeline and the European gas network.

Amina Benkhadra, Director General of the Moroccan National Office of Hydrocarbons and Mines, said that the conclusion of these memorandums confirms the commitment of the countries that will be connected to the gas pipeline to contribute to the activation of the project, which will provide gas to all West African countries and will constitute a new transit hub for export to Europe.

She added, in a speech during the signing meeting, that the new memorandums of understanding will contribute to strengthening cooperation between the countries concerned and defining the areas through which the pipeline will pass, in addition to defining the needs of each country for natural gas and providing the required licenses, whether on land or sea.